Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Field Recipients


The NAFSA International Education Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Field recognizes those who have displayed imaginative activity, outstanding personal enterprise, and creative contributions to the field through research, writing, or program development.

2014 Award Recipient

Marita Houlihan Award WinnerGayle Woodruff is former chair of NAFSA's Teaching, Learning, and Scholarship Knowledge Community and a contributor to NAFSA publications. She is also a principal investigator on a 3-year research project, A Study of the Educational Impact of International Students in Campus Internationalization.

Woodruff is the founding director of curriculum and campus internationalization for the University of Minnesota system, where she established the Mestenhauser Legacy Initiative and the biannual Internationalizing the Curriculum and Campus Conference, and co-founded the Internationalizing Teaching and Learning Faculty Cohort Program. She provides leadership for initiatives aimed at faculty development, campus internationalization, and the evaluation and assessment of internationalization. Previously she directed Minnesota's innovative study abroad curriculum integration initiative and was the co-founder of the Multicultural Study Abroad Group. Woodruff has published on numerous topics in international education, including Curriculum Integration of Education Abroad with Amy M. Henry.

Previous Recipients

  • Philip G. Altbach, Boston College
  • Ellen Badger, Binghamton University
  • Joan Rosalie Dassin, Ford Foundation International Fellowships Fund
  • Rosemarie Arens, U.S. State Department in Lima, Peru
  • Bruce Sillner, SUNY-New Paltz
  • Ellen Mashiko, Japan-United States Education Commission
  • Marty Etchison Babcock, University of North Carolina
  • Rebecca Zeigler Mano, US Embassy – Harare, Zimbabwe
  • Gary Althen, University of Iowa
  • Janet M. and Milton J. Bennett, Intercultural Communication Institute
  • Edward S. Blankenship, California State University-Long Beach
  • Alice Chandler, SUNY College-New Paltz
  • Todd M. Davis, Institute of International Education
  • Hans de Wit, University of Amsterdam
  • Stephen Dunnett, SUNY at Buffalo
  • Rene Greenwald, IIE-Mexico
  • G. James Haas, Indiana University/Purdue University
  • Linda Heaney, Linden Educational Services
  • Ann Helm, City University of New York-Staten Island
  • Axel Market, University of Tuebingen
  • Ivy McQuiddy, University of Texas-Austin
  • Josef Mestenhauser, University of Minnesota
  • Terry O'Donnell, Commission on English Language Program Accreditation
  • Jody Olsen, Peace Corps
  • Mary E. Peterson, NAFSA
  • Norman Peterson, Georgetown University
  • Cassandra Pyle, CIES
  • Kay Thomas, University of Minnesota-Minneapolis
  • Kevin Scheiffer, Experiment in International Living
  • Gene Smith, University of Colorado-Boulder
  • Ralph Smuckler, Michigan State University
  • Caroline Atsuko Matano Yang, U.S.-Japan Educational Commission

NAFSA Awards

NAFSA honors excellence in international education.

Explore NAFSA's national awards.