Award for Leadership and Collaboration Recipients


The NAFSA International Education Award for Leadership and Collaboration in honor of Cassandra Pyle honors the contributions of a senior international educator to global international exchange.

2016 Award Recipients

Ally MackAlly Calhoun Mack, PhD, founded and served as the director of the Jackson State University Office of International Programs (OIP) before being named dean of the division of international studies. She shaped the development of international education throughout Mississippi, mentoring others in founding OIP units at additional historically black colleges and universities in the state. She is responsible for the successful implementation of more than 800 international development and exchange projects involving countries in Africa; Asia; central and eastern Europe; Eurasia; and the Middle East.

M Peter McPhersonM. Peter McPherson is president of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) and has served as deputy secretary of the United States Treasury, administrator of the United States Agency for International Development, and as a special assistant to President Gerald Ford at the White House. As president of Michigan State University, McPherson adopted a hands-on approach to advancement of education abroad. He chaired the Congressionally appointed Abraham Lincoln Study Abroad Commission, advocating growth in U.S. study abroad.

Previous Recipients

  • Scott Stevens
  • Mary Sue Coleman, PhD
  • Julia Chang Bloch, U.S.-China Education Trust (USCET)
  • Zuhair A.G. Humadi
  • Caroline Matano Yang, Fulbright Program
  • Ward Chamberlin, American Field Service
  • Christian Bode, German Academic Exchange Service - Read Bode's acceptance speech
  • Humphrey Tonkin, University of Hartford
  • Harriet Fulbright, Fulbright Program
  • Alice Stone Ilchman, Jeannette K. Watson Fellowships
  • Axel Markert, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen

NAFSA Awards

NAFSA honors excellence in international education.

Explore NAFSA's national awards.