Life Membership Recipients


Life Membership is awarded each year to senior NAFSA members to recognize their achievements in advancing the goals of the association and of international education and exchange.

2016 Recipients

Mary Anne Grant

mary anne grantMary Anne Grant served as President and Chairman of the Board of NAFSA and held several other leadership positions including Chair of NAFSA’s 50th Anniversary Conference, SECUSSA Chair. She was an active NAFSA member and volunteer leader for more than thirty years and currently serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Forum on Education Abroad. For more than thirty-four years, Grant served as President and CEO of ISEP, a network of over 300 colleges and universities cooperating to provide affordable international educational experiences for a diverse student population.

William E. Nolting

William E. NoltingWilliam E. Nolting has served on the Region X team, as lead co-author of the NAFSA publication, Internships, Service Learning, and Volunteering Abroad and contributed to all four editions of NAFSA’s Guide to Education Abroad. He founded the EA-KC Subcommittee on Work, Internships and Volunteering Abroad (WIVA) and co-chaired it for a decade and was appointed to the NAFSA Task Force, "Strengthening the Association for the 21st Century." He was elected as Chair of NAFSA’s SECUSSA national team, and served on EA-KC subcommittees for health and safety and data collection, where he advocated for the inclusion of co-curricular data collection in Open Doors.

John Pearson

John PearsonJohn Pearson served as Director of the Bechtel International Center, Stanford University and has held various appointed and elected positions within NAFSA at the regional and national level. He served as the Chair of NAFSA’s SECUSSA National Team, as an elected member of the NAFSA Board of Directors, and Chair of the Conference Planning Committee. He is a past recipient of the NAFSA Homer Higbee Award and at Stanford has been acknowledged by both the Kenneth M. Cuthbertson Award which recognizes exceptional contributions to the University and the Margaret Ann Fidler Award for Distinguished Service in Student Affairs.

Deborah L. Pierce, Ph.D.

deb pierceDeborah L. Pierce, Ph.D. recently retired as associate vice president for international affairs and adjunct assistant professor of French at Northern Illinois University, where she was also a faculty associate of the Title VI-funded Center for Southeast Asian Studies. She served as a senior international officer for nearly 18 years. Pierce has served on the Region VI team and chair-stream, and on the founding team of the IEL Knowledge Community. She chaired the Leadership Development Committee and the 2010 Annual Conference Committee, and on the NAFSA Board as Vice President for Education and Professional Development.

Previous Recipients

  • Peter Briggs
  • Norman J. Peterson, Ph.D.
  • Joy Stevenson, Ph.D.
  • June Noronha
  • Elizabeth Soppelsa
  • John Greisberger, University of Michigan
  • Bob Locke
  • Connie Perdreau
  • Ellen Badger
  • Everett Egginton
  • Anders Uhrskov
  • Bob Ericksen, UCLA
  • Jon V.C. Booth, Syracuse University
  • Kay A. Thomas, Ph.D, University of Minnesota
  • Bill Barnhart, University of Utah
  • Janet Constantinides, University of Wyoming
  • Martha Wailes
  • Patricia Jones
  • Dr. James E. Frey
  • Suzanne Marlay, University College at Arkansas State University
  • Valerie Woolston, University of Maryland
  • Dixon Johnson, University of Southern California
  • Margaret D. Pusch, Society for Intercultural Education
  • Martin Limbird, Ball State University
  • Stirling Huntley, Pasadena, CA
  • Sanford C. Jameson, Bethesda, MD
  • Robert B. Kaplan, Port Angeles, WA
  • Robert Klinger, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Nancy J. Kopka, Grosse Point, MI
  • Diana Lopez, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Linda Heaney, Linden Educational Services
  • Harvey Stein, University of Chicago
  • Nancy Stubbs, University of Colorado – Boulder
  • Caroline Aldrich-Langen, Chico, CA
  • William H. Alloway, University of California-Santa Barbara
  • Gary Althen, University of Iowa
  • Marvin Baron, Walnut Creek, CA
  • Ralph P. Barrett, Elta
  • Brian A. Bates, Global Credential Evaluators, Inc.
  • Alex Bedrosian, Basking Ridge, NJ
  • August G. Benson, Lisle, IL
  • Stan Berry, Pullman, WA
  • Hazel Boltwood, Southfiled, MI
  • Alice Bonzi Lawler, Beavercreek, OR
  • M. Archer Brown, NAFSA
  • D'Ann Burke, University of Houston
  • Jack D. Burke, University of Houston
  • Thomas Carey, University of St. Thomas
  • Richard D. Downie, Newberry, FL
  • Marvin Durham, Philomath, OR
  • Kathleen M. Ellinghaus, University of Colorado
  • Charles W. Gay, U.S.C.
  • Kath-Ann Gerhardt, University of California-Davis
  • Johanne M. Glass, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Jean S. Griswold, Colorado State University
  • G. James Haas, Edwardsville, IL
  • David Horner, Michigan State University
  • David Larson, Center for Education Abroad at Arcadia University
  • Jerry Wilcox, University of Texas at Austin
  • J. Russell Lindquist, California State University-Long Beach
  • James F. Lynch Jr., Pennsylvania State University
  • E. Nell Magee, Nashville, TN
  • Alan M. Margolis, Consultant in Higher Education
  • Harriet Marsh, Tucson, AZ
  • Mary Cay Martin, University of Chicago
  • Josef A. Mestenhauser, University of Minnesota
  • Forrest G. Moore, Roseville, MN
  • June C. Naughton, University of Hawaii-Manoa
  • Joe W. Neal, Austin, TX
  • Donald Nelson, Miami University-Oxford
  • Ruth H. Purkaple, Denver, CO
  • Richard Reiff, University of Georgia
  • Tom Roberts, Butler University
  • Kenneth Rogers, Indiana University-Bloomington
  • Mary Rogerson, Columbia, SC
  • Inez Sepmeyer, Los Angeles, CA
  • Clara Simerville, Oregon State University
  • Cliff Sjogren, Cadillac, MI
  • Mickey Slind, IFSA- Butler University
  • William H. Smart, Oregon State University
  • Eugene H. Smith, Bozeman, MT
  • Paula Spier, Brewster, MA
  • Joann B. Stedman, Stedman Associates
  • Jennifer Stephens, Essex, MA
  • Leo J. Sweeney, University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • Gail Szenes, New York University
  • Lee Thompson, Boulder, CO
  • Mary A. Thompson, New York, NY
  • Mary Tinkham, Harvard University
  • Joyce Valdes, Houston, TX
  • J. Paul Ward, Albany, NY
  • Henry D. Weaver, Goshen, IN
  • David B. Williams, Asheville, NC
  • Joseph F. Williams, SUNY-Buffalo
  • Geoffrey R. Wood, University of Pittsburgh
  • A. Lee Zeigler, San Francisco, CA
  • Eugene R. Chamberlain, Hingham, MA
  • Phyllis Cotten, Wheat Ridge, CO
  • Garland H. Davies, Westerly, RI
  • James M. Davis, San Diego, CA
  • Jean Delaney, University of Colorado-Boulder
  • Edward Devlin, AACRAO

Additional Information

Learn more about Life Membership

NAFSA Awards

NAFSA honors excellence in international education.

Explore NAFSA's national awards.