The Annual Award for Outstanding Contributions to International Enrollment Management Recipients


Past recipients (and their professional affiliations at the time of the award) are:

2016 Recipient

Marjorie SmithMarjorie Smith
Associate Dean and Director of International Student Admission, University of Denver
Marjorie has worked in international enrollment management at the University of Denver for 31 years, where she leads all international recruitment, admission, and foreign credentials analysis as the Associate Dean and Director of International Student Admission. Prior to joining DU, Marjorie taught English to businessmen in Japan. She participated in her first Linden Recruitment Tour to Asia in 1988, and has gone on 29 Linden Tours and countless CIS tours over the years. In addition to her extensive recruitment travel, Marjorie has contributed to several international education publications and articles, including NAFSA’s Guide to International Student Recruitment, 2nd Edition, “The Admission and Placement of Students from the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic – A Workshop Report 1992” and “PIER World Education Series INDIA – Special Report 1997.” She is currently serving her second term on the Educational Credential Evaluators (ECE) board and serves on the board for StudyColorado. Marjorie has consulted on international enrollment management at various US campuses, and is a mentor and friend to many professionals in the field. To know Marjorie is to love her, respect her, and revere her as a friend, colleague and knowledge area expert.

“Marjorie is the person on the recruitment tour bus that everyone wants to sit next to. She has her own unique way of putting people at ease, getting to know each individual and bringing out the best in people. She is unwaveringly loyal, absolutely genuine and wickedly funny. You always know you’re going to learn something from this incredible woman and you’re likely to end up laughing.” – Ali Klein

Past Recipients

  • 2015 - Evelyn Levinson, American University
  • 2014 - Marty Bennett, CollegeWeekLive
  • 2013 - Julie Sinclair, Michigan State University
  • 2012 - Mary H. Reeves, PhD, Commission on English Language Program Accreditation (CEA)


Deadline: April 23, 2018

Submit a nomination

Learn More

Annual Award for Outstanding Contributions to IEM

Participate Now

Explore the IEM professional networks