NAFSA to Recognize Seven Universities and Colleges with 2016 Simon Award for Excellence in International Education at Livestreamed Event




Rebecca Morgan, 202.737.3699 x2553,
Katie O'Connell, 202.737.3699 x2559,

WASHINGTON, November 10, 2016 – NAFSA: Association of International Educators will host a panel discussion of college and university presidents and chancellors on how to expand access to the global learning opportunities that graduates need in order to succeed in the world economy. The college and university leaders are from institutions awarded NAFSA’s 2016 Senator Paul Simon Awards for Campus Internationalization for their success in developing international curriculums, integrating international students into the campus and diversifying enhanced access to study abroad. 

Event: Senator Paul Simon Award for Campus Internationalization, featuring a Presidential Panel and Reception Honoring the 2016 Award Recipients
When: Tuesday, November 15, 2016 
Presidential Panel: 4:00 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Reception and Awards Ceremony: 5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Where: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill  
400 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001 

Attending the Event
Reporters interested in covering this event should contact by C.O.B. Thursday, November 10.

Live Webcast
While space is limited for this invite-only event, the presidential panel will be broadcasted live via webcast beginning at 4 p.m. EST at NAFSA thanks INTO University Partnerships Limited for underwriting the 2016 Senator Paul Simon Campus Internationalization Presidential Panel webcast.

2016 Winning Institutions
Senator Paul Simon Award for Comprehensive Internationalization: 

  • College of William & Mary
  • New York Institute of Technology 
  • The University of Tampa
  • University of Massachusetts Boston

Senator Paul Simon Spotlight Award:

  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 
  • East Carolina University 
  • Texas Tech University


  • Taylor Reveley, J.D., President, College of William & Mary 
  • Edward Guiliano, Ph.D., President, New York Institute of Technology
  • J. Keith Motley, Ph.D., Chancellor, University of Massachusetts Boston
  • Ronald L. Vaughn, Ph.D., President, The University of Tampa
  • Cecil Staton, Ph.D., Chancellor, East Carolina University
  • Lawrence Schovanec, Ph.D., President, Texas Tech University
  • Debra W. Stewart, Ph.D., Moderator, President Emerita & Senior Scholar, Council of Graduate Schools

Additional speakers at panel  

  • Marlene M. Johnson, Executive Director & CEO, NAFSA 
  • Martin Simon, son of the late Senator Paul Simon

Speaker at Reception

  • Richard Stengel, U.S. Department of State, Under Secretary for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs