Annual Conference & ExpoProposals

For the second year in a row, select first-time attendees serving underrepresented populations were awarded complimentary conference registrations to help them advance internationalization on their campuses through the Impact Scholarship Program.

Twenty-seven scholarship recipients, all working at community colleges, associates colleges, Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Hispanic-Serving Institutions, and tribal colleges, traveled to San Diego, California, to attend workshops, sessions, and luncheons on a variety of international education topics. The scholars were also recognized at the Annual Business Meeting and the National Awards Reception.

The goal of the Impact Scholarship Program is to increase diversity in international education and to support institutions in building their capacity to grow study abroad, internationalize the curriculum, and increase global competencies for graduates. More than 90 applications were submitted for the 30 scholarships available, and the scholarship winners represented all but one of the NAFSA regions. NAFSA would like to thank the participating scholars and their universities for their commitment to international education.

Tribal Colleges

  • Roxanne Delille, Fond Du Lac Tribal Community College
  • Andrew Stratton, Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute

Hispanic-Serving Institutions

  • David Draper, Marymount California University
  • Mayra Gallegos, California State University-Long Beach
  • Jeremiah Gilbert, San Bernadino Valley College
  • Clinton Hourigan, New Mexico State University
  • Rachel Portwood, Houston Baptist University
  • Virgilio Rodriguez, Mount Mary University
  • Isabel Toledo, University of Houston Downtown

Historically Black Colleges & Universities

  • Maggie Emily, Albany State University
  • Marisa Francois, Morgan State University
  • Ebony Majeed, Hampton University
  • Deirdre Mathis, Bowie State University
  • Charles Richardson, Jr., Clark Atlanta University
  • Lee Todhunter, Bennett College for Women
  • Calandra Wright, Fort Valley State University
  • Karl Wright, Claflin University

Community Colleges

  • Jody Ballah, Blue Ash College
  • Jia-Yi Cheng-Levine, College of the Canyons
  • Ida Flippo, Clackamas Community College
  • Drew Gephart, Peralta Community College
  • Jessica Jaimes, Pitt Community College
  • Reyna Reger, Lake Tahoe Community College
  • Cynthia Sandhu, San Juan College
  • Megan Sears, South Seattle College
  • Rachel Sicke, Butte College
  • Grace Yates, Austin Community College

Learn More

The deadline for applications has passed.


Tanith Fowler Corsi
Director for Engagement & Resources
Tel: 202.495.2596