Region VII

Region VII Leadership Team

Erin Hillis, PhD
Chair
Associate Director of International Programs
Rhodes College
2000 North Parkway, Memphis, TN 38112
T: 901-843-3403
hillise@rhodes.edu
Term begins: 10/2017
Term ends: 10/2018

Charter Morris
Chair Elect
Director of International Student & Scholar Services
The University of Alabama
105 B.B. Comer Hall
Box 870254
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0254
T: 205-348-5402
F: 205-348-5406
charter.morris@ua.edu
Term begins: 10/2017
Term ends: 10/2018

Fred von Schmeling

Fred von Schmeling
Past Chair
Regional Director, University Relations
AIFS Study Abroad
T: 203-399-5583
F: 203-399-5597
fvonschmeling@aifs.com  
Term begins: 10/2017
Term ends: 10/2018

Fred von Schmeling

Ashley Krutz
Registrar
Education Abroad Advisor
Office of International Programs
University of North Carolina, Wilmington
601 S. College Road
Wilmington, NC 28403-5965
T: 910-962-3685
krutza@uncw.edu  
Term begins: 12/2017
Term ends: 11/2020

Vince Guarino

Vince Guarino
Treasurer
Assistant Director for International Admissions
University of South Carolina
902 Sumter Street Access/Lieber College
Columbia, SC 29208
T: 803-777-5499
F: 803-777-0101
pmsolomon@waketech.edu
Term begins: 11/2017
Term ends: 11/2020

Brett Reichert

Brett Reichert
Communications Coordinator
Associate Director, International Student and Scholar Services
Georgia State University
33 Gilmer Street, Suite 252
Atlanta, GA 30302
T: 404-413-2073
F: 404-413-2072
breichert@gsu.edu
Term begins: 10/2016
Term ends: 10/2019

Sylvia Shortt
Conference Coordinator
Retired from University of West Georgia
T: 706-310-7113
sshortt@westga.edu
Term begins: 11/2012
Term ends: 11/2018

Sylvia Schell
Conference Coordinator Apprentice
Assistant Director, Immigration Services
Office of International Education
University of Georgia
1324 South Lumpkin Street
Athens, GA 30602
T: 706-542-2900
sylvias@uga.edu
Term begins: 10/2017
Term ends: 10/2020

Ashley Sansotta
Two-Year College Representative
Manager, International Student Recruitment
Hillsborough Community College
4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33614
T: 813-253-7327
asansotta@hccfl.edu
Term begins: 4/2016
Term ends: 11/2019

Marisa Atencio
Regulatory Ombudsperson for Scholar Issues
marisa.atencio@gmail.com 
Term begins: 11/2016
Term ends: 11/2019

 

Regina George
Regulatory Ombudsperson for Student Issues
Director, Office of Immigration and International Admissions
University of South Alabama
Mobile, AL 36688
T: 251-460-6050
reginageorge@southalabama.edu
Term begins: 9/2015
Term ends:11/2018

Angie Edwards
International Education Leadership (IEL) Liaison; and Teaching,
Learning, Scholarship KC
Director, Myrta Pulliam Ctr. for International Education
Queens University of Charlotte
1900 Selwyn Ave.
Charlotte, NC 28274
T: 704-337-2531
edwardsa@queens.edu
Term begins: 11/2016
Term ends: 11/2019
 

Liz Dille
KC Education Abroad (EA) Liaison
Associate Director of International Programs
Mercer University
1501 Mercer University Dr.
Macon, GA
dille_em@mercer.edu
Term begins: 11/2015
Term ends: 11/2018

Catherine Crowe
KC International Student and Scholar Services (ISSS) Liaison
Director, International Student & Scholar Services
The University of Alabama at Birmingham
Mervyn H. Sterne Library, 2nd Fl., Room 248E
917 13th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35294-0014
T: 205-934-1252
cpcrowe@uab.edu
Term begins: 10/2017
Term ends: 11/2020

Nazanin Tork
KC International Enrollment Management (IEM) Liaison
Associate Director of Admission
Agnes Scott College
141 E. College Ave.
Decatur, GA 30030
T: 404-471-6061
Fax:404-471-6159

ntork@agnesscott.edu
Term begins: 11/2016
Term ends: 11/2019

Eunice Thomas 
State Rep - Alabama
Academic Coordinator for International Admissions
Office of Undergraduate Admissions and Scholarships
The University of Alabama
203 Student Service Center
Box 870132
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487
T: 205-348-7026
elthomas7@ua.edu
Term begins: 4/14/2017
Term ends:11/2020

Dr. Alejandra Parra
State Rep - Florida
Senior Director
Office of International Student & Scholar Services
Florida International University
11200 SW 8th Street, SASC 230
Miami, FL 33199
alejandra.parra@fiu.edu
Term begins: 10/2017
Term ends: 10/2020

 

TBD
State Rep - Georgia

Term begins: 7/2018
Term ends: 11/2019

Hannah Jones

Hannah Jones
State Rep - Mississippi
Manager of Exchange Programs
Office of Study Abroad

The University of Southern Mississippi
118 College Drive #5069
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
T: 601-266-4344
hannah.l.jones@usm.edu  
Term begins: 3/2018
Term ends: 11/2019

Kim Priebe
State Rep - North Carolina
Director, Study Abroad
Office of Global Engagement
North Carolina State University
Campus Box 7344 | University College Commons 315
Raleigh, NC 27695 USA
T: 919-515-2078
kspriebe@ncsu.edu
Term begins: 12/2016
Terms ends: 12/2019

Frances J. Santiago, Ph.D, PDSO, ARO
State Rep - Puerto Rico
French Professor, Coordinator for Immigration Affairs Office
University of Puerto Rico- Mayagüez Campus
259 Boulevard Alfonso Valdes, Celis Bldg. 207
Mayagüez, PR 00682
T: 787-265-3846
F: 787-265-5443
francesj.santiago@upr.edu
Term begins: 10/2016
Term ends: 10/2019

Lauren Smith
State Rep - South Carolina
Assistant Director, Immigration & Advising Services
International Student Services
University of South Carolina
1705 College Street, Suite 650
Columbia, SC 29208
T: 803-777-7461
Lsmith11@mailbox.sc.edu
Term begins: 10/2015
Term Ends:  10/2018
 

Mark Gunter

Mark Gunter
State Rep - Tennessee
Director, International Student Services
Office of International Affairs
Crouch Hall, Suite 106
Nashville, TN 37209
T: 615-963-5639
mgunter@tnstate.edu
Term Begins: 6/2018
Term Ends: 10/2020

Gwen Wade

Gwen Wade
HBCU-MSI Representative
Director, International Programs
Clark Atlanta University
223 James P. Brawley Dr., SW
Atlanta, GA 30314
T: 404-754-2120
gwade@cau.edu
Term begins: 7/2016
Term ends: 11/2019

Rebecca Laumann

Rebecca Laumann, J.D.
Local Arrangements Co-Chair (LAC), 2018 Conference
Interim Executive Director, Center for Int'l Education Services
University of Memphis
110 Panhellenic Building
Memphis, TN 38152
T: 901-678-2814
rlaumann@memphis.edu

Peggy Mahoney

Peggy Mahoney
Local Arrangements Co-Chair (LAC), 2018 Conference 
Immigration Specialist
Office of International Affairs
University of Tennessee Health Science
910 Madison Avenue, Ste. 105
Memphis TN 38163
Phone: 901-448-8484
mmahone6@uthsc.edu

 

TBD
Development Coordinator
Term begins: 11/2018
Term ends: 11/2021

 

Michael Dedes

Staff Liaison
Associate Director, Regional Affairs
NAFSA: Association of International Educators
1307 New York Avenue NW, 8th Floor
Washington, DC 20005-4704
michaeld@nafsa.org