Region XI

Government Regulations Advisory Committee (GRAC)

The Region XI Government Regulations Advisory Committee (GRAC) is a sub-committee of the NAFSA Region XI Team that specializes in U.S. government laws, rules, and regulations (at the federal, state, and local level) as they pertain to international students and scholars enrolled, employed, or visiting educational institutions in the six New England states. GRAC works closely with the Regulatory Ombudspersons, the Knowledge Community for International Student and Scholar Services (KCISSS) Representative, and the Region XI Chair stream, who are all ex-officio members of the committee.

Team Members Contact Information Specialization
Elke Breker  
Member
Director, Office of Int'l Student & Scholar Services
Brown University
J. Walter Wilson, Suite 510
69 Brown Street, Box 1906
Providence, RI 02912

p: 401-863-2427
f: 401-863-7543
Elke_Breker@brown.edu
F / J stu / J sch / H / TN / O
Rajan Eapen  
Member
International Scholar Advisor, Office of Int'l Education
University of Vermont
#B101 633 Main St.
Burlington, VT 05405

p: 802-656-4296
f: 802-656-8553
Rajan.Eapen@uvm.edu
J stu / J int / J sch / H / TN /O LPR / I-9s / MED
Kathy M. Foley     
Secretary
Associate Dean & Director, Int'l Student & Scholar Services
Middlebury College
Service Building, 84 South Service Road
Middlebury, VT 05753

p: 802-443-3032
f: 802-443-2063
kfoley@middlebury.edu
F / J stu / J sch
Elizabeth A. Goss, Esq.
Member 
Founder, Goss Associates LLC 
177 Milk Street, Ste. 605 
Boston, MA 02110 

p: 617-357-9300 x101 
f: 857-991-1209
liz@gossimmigration.com
H / TN / O / LPR
Mihwa Lee 
Member  
Senior Adviser, Office of Int'l Students & Scholars
Yale University
421 Temple Street
New Haven, CT 06511
p: 202-432-2304
f: 203-432-2305
mihwa.lee@yale.edu
F / J stu / J sch / H / TN
Maureen Martin     
Chair 
Director of Immigration Services, Harvard Int'l Office
Harvard University
1350 Massachusetts Avenue, 864 Holyoke Center
Cambridge, MA 02138 

p: 617-496-2820
f: 617-495-4088 
maureen_martin@harvard.edu
F / J stu / J sch / TN / H / O
M. Andrea Popa     
Member 
Associate Director for Student Services
International Students and Scholars Office
Boston University
888 Commonwealth Ave.
Boston, MA 02215 

p: 617-353-3565
f: 617-358-1170 
apopa@bu.edu
F / J stu / J sch / TN / H / I-9s
Dawn Sedutto  
Member 
Director, Int'l Student Services 
Southern New Hampshire University 
2500 N River Rd.
Manchester, NH 03106-1045 

p: 603-645-9676
f: 603-645-9603 
D.Sedutto@snhu.edu
F / Taxes
Susan Shea    
Member 
Associate Director, Office of Int'l Students & Scholars
Boston College, Thea Bowman House
140 Commonwealth Ave.
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467 
 
p: 617-552-8005
f: 617-552-2190 
sheasc@bc.edu
F / J stu / J int / J sch
Specialists Contact Information Specialization
Jennifer O'Connor          
K-12 Specialist
Director, Int'l Student Programs
Lawrence Academy
P.O. Box 992
Groton, MA 01450
 
p: 978-448-1550
f: 978-448-9208
joconnor@lacademy.edu
K-12 / F
Claire Sala Ayer    
Medical Specialist
Director
Int'l Office for Students, Scholars & Staff
Partners Healthcare
101 Merrimac Street, Fourth Floor
Boston, MA 02114 

p: 617-724-3969
f: 617-726-9212
cayer@partners.org
MED / J sch / TN / H / O / LPR
Ex-Officio Members Contact Information Specialization
Amanda Doran    
Regulatory Ombudsperson - Scholar Issues 
Advisor to International Scholars, Int'l Scholars Office
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Ave. E18-209
Cambridge, MA 02139

p: 617-253-1781
f: 617-253-6624
adoran@mit.edu
J sch / H / TN / O / LPR
Shannon Gerber     
Regulatory Ombudsperson - Student Issues
Associate Director, Int'l Student and Scholar Office
University of Massachusetts Boston
100 Morrissey Blvd.
Boston, MA 02125
 
p:617-287-6709
f: 617-287-3963
shannon.gerber@umb.edu
F
Amanda Connolly 
Knowledge Community Representative
Int'l Student & Scholar Services 
Immigration Specialist, Immigration Services Office
UMass Medical School
333 South Street, HR 2nd Floor
Shrewsbury, MA 01545

p: 508-856-4771
f: 508-856-5922
Amanda.Connolly@umassmed.edu
F / J stu / J sch 

Key

  • F = F students and dependents
  • J stu = J students and dependents
  • J sch = J scholars and dependents
  • J int = J Interns
  • TN = TN status under NAFTA; scholars/dependents
  • K-12 = Kindergarten-12th grade
  • H = H-1B scholars/employees and dependents
  • O = O-1 scholars and dependents
  • MED = Medical
  • LPR = Lawful Permanent Residence