Region XI

Government Regulations Advisory Committee (GRAC)

The Region XI Government Regulations Advisory Committee (GRAC) is a sub-committee of the NAFSA Region XI Team that specializes in U.S. government laws, rules, and regulations (at the federal, state, and local level) as they pertain to international students and scholars enrolled, employed, or visiting educational institutions in the six New England states. GRAC works closely with the Regulatory Ombudspersons, the Knowledge Community for International Student and Scholar Services (KCISSS) Representative, and the Region XI Chair stream, who are all ex-officio members of the committee.

Team Members Contact Information Specialization
Elke Breker  
Member
Director, Office of Int'l Student & Scholar Services
Brown University
J. Walter Wilson, Suite 510
69 Brown Street, Box 1906
Providence, RI 02912

p: 401-863-2427
f: 401-863-7543
Elke_Breker@brown.edu
F / J stu / J sch / H / TN / O
Rajan Eapen  
Member
International Scholar Advisor, Office of Int'l Education
University of Vermont
#B101 633 Main St.
Burlington, VT 05405

p: 802-656-4296
f: 802-656-8553
Rajan.Eapen@uvm.edu
J stu / J int / J sch / H / TN /O LPR / I-9s / MED
Kathy M. Foley     
Secretary
Associate Dean & Director, Int'l Student & Scholar Services
Middlebury College
Service Building, 84 South Service Road
Middlebury, VT 05753

p: 802-443-3032
f: 802-443-2063
kfoley@middlebury.edu
F / J stu / J sch
Elizabeth A. Goss, Esq.
Member 
Founder, Goss Associates LLC 
177 Milk Street, Ste. 605 
Boston, MA 02110 

p: 617-357-9300 x101 
f: 857-991-1209
liz@gossimmigration.com
H / TN / O / LPR
Mihwa Lee 
Member  
Senior Adviser, Office of Int'l Students & Scholars
Yale University
421 Temple Street
New Haven, CT 06511
p: 202-432-2304
f: 203-432-2305
mihwa.lee@yale.edu
F / J stu / J sch / H / TN
Maureen Martin     
Chair 
Director of Immigration Services, Harvard Int'l Office
Harvard University
1350 Massachusetts Avenue, 864 Holyoke Center
Cambridge, MA 02138 

p: 617-496-2820
f: 617-495-4088 
maureen_martin@harvard.edu
F / J stu / J sch / TN / H / O
Sal Mazzone     
Member 

salmazzone@gmail.com F / J stu / J int / J sch
Anthony Pawelski     
Member 
Int'l Advisor, Partners Office for International Professionals and Students (PIPS)
Partners HealthCare
Partners HealthCare System, 399 Revolution Drive, Ste 270
Somerville, MA 02145 

p: 857-282-2422
f: 857-282-8104 
apawelski@partners.org
J sch / H / TN / O / LPR / MED
M. Andrea Popa     
Member 
Director, International Student Affairs
Emerson College
120 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116 

p: 617-824-3598
f: 617-824-8618 
andrea_popa@emerson.edu
F / J stu / J sch / TN / H / I-9s
Kate Sacco     
SIW Coordinator 
Director, Office of Int'l Student Services
Rhode Island School of Design
210 Benefit St., Rm 306
Providence, RI 02903 

p: 401-709-8474
f: 401-454-6605 
csacco@risd.edu
F / J stu
Dawn Sedutto  
Member 
Director, Int'l Student Services 
Southern New Hampshire University 
2500 N River Rd.
Manchester, NH 03106-1045 

p: 603-645-9676
f: 603-645-9603 
D.Sedutto@snhu.edu
F / Taxes
Susan Shea    
Member 
Associate Director, Office of Int'l Students & Scholars
Boston College, Thea Bowman House
140 Commonwealth Ave.
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467 
 
p: 617-552-8005
f: 617-552-2190 
sheasc@bc.edu
F / J stu / J int / J sch
Specialists Contact Information Specialization
Jennifer O'Connor          
K-12 Specialist
Director, Int'l Student Programs
Lawrence Academy
P.O. Box 992
Groton, MA 01450
 
p: 978-448-1550
f: 978-448-9208
joconnor@lacademy.edu
K-12 / F
Ex-Officio Members Contact Information Specialization
Amanda Doran    
Regulatory Ombudsperson - Scholar Issues (2017 - 2019)
Advisor to International Scholars, Int'l Scholars Office
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Ave. E18-209
Cambridge, MA 02139

p: 617-253-1781
f: 617-253-6624
adoran@mit.edu
J sch / H / TN / O / LPR
Shannon Gerber     
Regulatory Ombudsperson - Student Issues (2017 - 2019)
SEVIS Data Specialist, Office of Global Services
Northeastern University
360 Huntington Avenue, 405 Ell Hall
Boston, MA 02115
 
p:617-373-2310
f: n/a
s.gerber@northeastern.edu
F
Ozan Say 
Knowledge Community Representative ISSS (2019 - 2021)
Adviser, Office of Int'l Students and Scholars
Yale University
421 Temple St.
New Haven, CT 06511

p: 203-432-2303
f: 203-432-7166
ozan.say@yale.edu
F / J stu / J sch / Taxes

Key

  • F = F students and dependents
  • J stu = J students and dependents
  • J sch = J scholars and dependents
  • J int = J Interns
  • TN = TN status under NAFTA; scholars/dependents
  • K-12 = Kindergarten-12th grade
  • H = H-1B scholars/employees and dependents
  • O = O-1 scholars and dependents
  • MED = Medical
  • LPR = Lawful Permanent Residence