Region V

About Region V

NAFSA has nearly 9,000 members at 3,500 institutions worldwide, representing 94 countries. The organization is divided into 11 geographic regions, which provide the all-important grassroots strength of the association. Many opportunities for involvement, association activities, and leadership are found at the regional level. Each region is governed by an elected chair and a team comprised of representatives of the professional sections and interest groups.

Region V Team Members (2018-20)

Position Name E-mail Term
Chair Matthew Schneider
matt.schneider@wesli.com 12/31/2019
Chair-Elect Catrina DeBord
catrina.debord@northwestern.edu 12/31/2019
Past-Chair Karin Christoph Brown
karin@oneearthevaluations.org 12/31/2019
Conference Chair Kristy Aoki kristy.aoki@snc.edu 12/31/2019
Conference Chair Designee VACANT VACANT 12/31/2020
Treasurer Ugo Buzzi ubuzzi@umich.edu 12/31/2021
KC IEL Rep VACANT VACANT 12/31/2020
KC IEM Liaison Yimin Wang ywan107@ilstu.edu 12/31/2021
KC EA Liaison  VACANT VACANT 12/31/2021
KC EA Liaison Mark Eckman eckmanm@uwm.edu 12/31/2018
KC ISSS Liaison John Prescott jbpresco@umich.edu 12/31/2020
KC TLS Liaison Kari Henquinet kbhenqui@mtu.edu 12/31/2020
Regulatory Ombudsperson - Student Hersh Sisodia hsisodia@msu.edu 12/31/2018
Regulatory Ombudsperson - Scholar Bob White rwhite@masudafunai.com 12/31/2020
Advocacy Coordinator Emlyn Torres e-torres@northwestern.edu 12/31/2020
Community College Liaison Derek Shouba derek.shouba@morton.edu 12/31/2020
Exhibitor Coordinator Katerina Roskina eval@chinacredentials.com 12/31/2019
Communications Coordinator Kyle Anderson ande1932@msu.edu 12/31/2020
Michigan State Representative Kelly Wagner kellwag@umich.edu 12/31/2020
Wisconsin State Representative Rachel Haos rachel.haos@alverno.edu 12/31/2019
Illinois State Representative Lily Huang qhuang3@illinois.edu 12/31/2019

Connect Locally

The following organizations, which are independent of NAFSA: Association of International Educators, provide additional opportunities to network and access resources within your state as well as local communities.

Job Registry

View open positions