Five Outstanding International Educators Recognized with NAFSA Awards2014-05-28FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEContact: Rebecca Morgan, [email protected], 202.737.3699 x4449SAN DIEGO, CA, May 28, 2014 – Today, during the 66th annual conference of NAFSA: Association of International Educators, five outstanding international educators were presented with prestigious NAFSA awards. This year's award recipients are Gayle Woodruff for the Marita Houlihan Award; Joy Stevenson for the Homer Higbee Award; and John Greisberger, Robert Locke, and Connie Perdreau for NAFSA Life Membership Awards. The Cassandra Pyle Award was presented yesterday to University of Michigan President Mary Sue Coleman.

The Marita Houlihan Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Field of International Education was presented to Gayle Woodruff, founding director of curriculum and campus internationalization at the University of Minnesota, for her outstanding personal enterprise, and creative contributions to the field of international education through research, writing, and program development. At the University of Minnesota, Woodruff provides leadership for faculty development, campus internationalization, and the evaluation and assessment of internationalization. Previously she directed Minnesota’s innovative study abroad curriculum integration initiative and was the co-founder of the Multicultural Study Abroad Group. Woodruff has published numerous international education works, including Curriculum Integration of Education Abroad with Amy M. Henry. She established the Mestenhauser Legacy Initiative and the biannual Internationalizing the Curriculum and Campus conference, and co-founded the Internationalizing Teaching and Learning Faculty Cohort Program.

The Homer Higbee Award for Distinguished Service to NAFSA was presented to Joy Stevenson, director of the International Center at the University of Central Missouri (UCM), for her decades of service to NAFSA, including serving as a past NAFSA Vice President for Member Relations, authoring NAFSA publications, and her many contributions to the professional development of colleagues through mentorship. Stevenson serves on the Board of Directors of the Study Missouri Consortium and is also an adjunct faculty member at UCM teaching diversity appreciation and international higher education administration, and supervising intern students seeking a career in international education. Stevenson created the first international recruiting plan for UCM in 1994 and began her career in international education as UCM’s first international student advisor in 1983.  

NAFSA Life Membership is awarded to past Presidents of NAFSA upon their retirement from the field to honor their achievements in advancing the goals of the association and of international education and exchange. Since 2007, John Greisberger has served as director of the International Center at the University of Michigan (U-M), where he oversees services and programs for U-M’s 8,900 international students and scholars, and the thousands of students interested in overseas study, internships, and community service projects. Greisberger began his career as an international educator more than 40 years ago as a Peace Corps Volunteer teaching English as a foreign language in rural Afghanistan. Since then he has worked in various roles serving international students at Harvard University, The Ohio State University, and Iowa State University. He has served in leadership roles on numerous national organizations including the Phi Beta Delta Honor Society for International Scholars, the Executive Committee of the Association of International Education Administrators, and the TOEFL Board at Educational Testing Service (ETS). Greisberger served as president of NAFSA in 2004.

Robert Locke has been involved in international education for more than 40 years. He started with Peace Corps assignments in Uganda and Malaysia, and then held professional positions at Cornell University, George Washington University, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and most recently at Columbia University, as associate provost and director of the International Students and Scholars Office. Locke’s volunteer positions at NAFSA range from presenter and committee member to elected and appointed regional and national leadership roles, including serving as president of NAFSA in 2005.  

Connie Perdreau is the director of the Haggerty English Language Program at the State University of New York at New Paltz, and director emerita of education abroad at Ohio University where she was a faculty member and administrator in study abroad and the Ohio Program of Intensive English for 30 years. Perdreau was the first African-American president of NAFSA in 1996-97. She served in numerous leadership roles on local and national committees including the TOEFL Board, the National Strategic Task Force for Study Abroad, and the Fulbright Enrichment Program Committee. She has had more than 100 scholarly presentations and publications and was recently cited for her role in international education in the 2013 edition of Black Firsts: 4,000 Ground-Breaking and Pioneering Historical Events.
For more information on the awards, visit

Sample Tweet: 5 Outstanding International Educators Recognized with @NAFSA Awards at #nafsa14 conference:

With nearly 10,000 members, NAFSA: Association of International Educators is the world's largest nonprofit association dedicated to international education. Visit us at Follow #nafsa14 and visit for conference information.

To learn more about our advocacy efforts, visit and follow @ConnectOurWorld on Twitter.