Susan CartyI recently chaired the Education Abroad Knowledge Community Update at NAFSA's annual conference in Houston, where we announced the winners of our national education abroad awards that recognize the commitment and contributions of worthy individuals in our field.

The recipient of the 2012 Lily von Klemperer Award is Dr. David Wick, coordinator of study abroad services at San Francisco State University. The recipient of the 2012 Education Abroad Leadership Award is Dr. Michael Steinberg, executive vice president and director of academic programs at the Institute for the International Education of Students (IES Abroad).

Wick received no less than 10 letters in support of his nomination. They referenced his professionalism, passion, humor, accessibility, commitment to advocacy, and willingness to share his expertise and to offer motivation, as well as his extensive work with NAFSA’s annual conference, the Academy for International Education, and Advocacy Day.

Steinberg was recognized as one of those unique individuals who toil away out of a devotion to the profession and a commitment to education abroad without personal ambition or a need for accolades. His work in the field over the past 35-plus years has included numerous contributions to publications, professional presentations, and service as a founding member of the NAFSA Inter-associational Task Force on Health and Safety in International Education. He is a founding member of the Forum on Education Abroad’s Standards Committee, serving as one of the chief authors of the Forum Standards.

Please join me in congratulating both of this year’s award recipients!

Susan Carty is director of administration and program management in the Office of Overseas Study at Indiana University and currently serves as chair of the Education Abroad Knowledge Community.