MINUTES OF THE NAFSA REGION VI UPDATE AT THE 52ND ANNUAL CONFERENCE IN PHILADELPHIA WEDNESDAY, MAY 30, 2001

The Chair, Karen DeGrange, called the meeting to order at 5:20 p.m. Minutes of the Business Meeting from the Sandusky Conference, which was held on November 7, 2000, were distributed. Susan Carty moved to approve the minutes, Lynn Schoch seconded the motion, and the minutes were unanimously approved.

Linda Marx, Membership Chair/Secretary, distributed the Region VI Membership Report (Attachment A) and made some brief comments concerning membership.

Details of the financial status of the region were presented (Attachment B). Schoch noted that a few items were new, and those included the State Meeting Support, a COMSEC Representative Travel Grant, and PDP Grants. It has been the current mission to spend down the balance in order to help NAFSA members get to NAFSA activities. The balance is down \$7,000 this year. Following a discussion, the motion was made, seconded and the Treasurer's Report was approved.

Sherif Barsoum reported on the status of the Regional Conference that will be held from Nov. 4-6, 2001, at the Sheraton North in Indianapolis, Indiana. Barsoum said that there will be a new photo contest and that STA Travel had donated \$100 toward an air ticket for the prize. June 30 is the deadline for submission of proposals for the regional conference. There will be travel grants again this year and applicants are needed. Members were reminded to update their directory information on the NAFSA web site.

Barsoum suggested that a Listserv be established for the region. The Ohio State University is willing to host such a Listserv. Kenneth Rogers moved to establish a Listserv for Region VI at The Ohio State University. Donald Nelson seconded the motion. A discussion followed that included the question as to why the Listserv should be limited to the region and how the subscription would be handled. The motion carried.

DeGrange reported that Charlene Leach would chair the conference in 2002 which will be held at the Radisson Hotel in Lexington, Kentucky.

The state representatives were introduced for Indiana, Ohio and Kentucky. Members were encouraged to see their state representatives regarding a petition for the repeal of IIRAIRA. A personalized letter could also be sent to congressional representatives. NAFSA is endorsing the repeal.

DeGrange announced that International Education Week would be held November 12 to 16, 2001. It was originally scheduled to be held in October.

REGION VI UPDATE MAY 30, 2001 PAGE 2

Michael Brzezinski said that Daniel Soto, from Indiana University, is the COMSEC award recipient. He also requested that consideration be given to proposing future sessions that would serve as cross-interest sessions with COMSEC.

DeGrange announced that Palisades would be utilized for pre-registration for the regional conference this year. Susan Carty would continue to handle the on-site registration.

New Region VI Team members were introduced and the outgoing members were recognized.

DeGrange read a proposed change to the regional by-laws relating to vacancies in the position of Chair (Attachment C). The proposed change had been submitted to the membership in the spring edition of <u>NAFSA Region VI News</u>. Kathleen Fairfax moved to accept the change and the motion was seconded by Sherif Barsoum. A discussion followed, including clarification that a simple majority of those present would suffice to pass a change in the by-laws. It was mentioned that other regions have similar policies in place. The vote was taken and the change to the by-laws was unanimously passed.

Announcements were made concerning the next national conference, which will be held May 26-31, 2002, in San Antonio, Texas,

DeGrange announced that a pilot program had been introduced by NAFSA National to create state whips. Not every state will be represented in the pilot program.

DeGrange then passed the gavel to Kathleen Fairfax. DeGrange was presented with a plaque as recognition for her leadership for the year. Barsoum will serve as Chair-elect but a nominee was needed for Chair for the year following. After a brief introductory biography was presented, Ken Rogers moved to nominate Dee Bunge for the role. Susan Carty seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Rogers reminded members to submit nominations for the Dowling Award by October 1. He also advised that a new International Education Initiative was being proposed in Indiana to promote study in Indiana abroad.

Reminders were made to encourage attendance tonight at the 40th Anniversary Celebration for COMSEC.

Fairfax acknowledged Heidi Gregori-Gahan's receipt of the Homer Higbee Award at this conference. Gregory-Gahan made a brief and modest response.

REGION VI UPDATE MAY 30, 2001 PAGE 3

DeGrange presented Fairfax with a token of appreciation.

Marx requested nominations for the George E. Hertrich Advocacy Award. The deadline for nominations is October 1 and should be made through the state representatives.

Some of the new Region VI members in attendance were introduced.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:18 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Linda E. Marx