Congress of the United States

House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515-3302

May 23, 2025

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Chair Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and Related Agencies 2358-B Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and Related Agencies 1036 Longworth Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Aderholt and Ranking Member DeLauro:

As you draft your Fiscal Year 2026 Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Appropriations bill, we request that you include \$80 million and \$11 million respectively for the Higher Education Act-Title VI and Fulbright-Hays programs, a 6% increase adjusting for combined FY 2024 and FY 2025 inflation. Despite the budget restrictions, this funding is crucial for the prosperity and safety of our nation and its citizens.

The longstanding bipartisan HEA-Title VI and Fulbright-Hays programs have helped our nation develop a strong foundation in international education, research, and world language studies, especially in the less-commonly taught languages that hold special strategic interest for our national defense and diplomatic presence around the world.

As shortfalls of language and cultural skills continue to persist in the U.S. military, diplomatic, and intelligence communities, our nation's language deficit will threaten our priorities and missions around the globe. Simultaneously, U.S. businesses and their clientele are continuing to globalize their operations, requiring a workforce with language skills, cultural knowledge, and international experience to compete successfully in global markets. Unfortunately, the U.S. continues to lag behind other nations in the percentage of citizens who know a second language.

Strong academic programs in critical world languages and intensive training in multi-disciplinary regional studies—including socio-economic, cultural, security, and religious and business aspects—are vital, and robust federal funding is essential to ensuring that students from all backgrounds can access these high-quality programs. Beyond the intensive curriculum development and related academic programming, Title VI resources make possible extensive outreach to K-12 classrooms, strong collaborations between four-year postsecondary institutions and community colleges, and strengthened ties between U.S. postsecondary institutions and international partners.

The various programs funded under this account serve to strengthen our nation's educational infrastructure in areas where the need grows greater by the day. We are thankful for your

commitment to these programs and the increased funding provided in FY 2020 through FY 2023. We hope to build on this progress and provide \$91 million for the Title VI/Fulbright-Hays programs, which would continue reversing a decade of sequestration and help restore the programs to their Fiscal Year 2010 funding levels, adjusted for inflation. This is a small but vitally important investment in our nation's education, national security, and economic competitiveness.

Unfortunately, the Administration laid off the entire staff for HEA-Title VI and Fulbright-Hays programs in mid-March, causing much uncertainty about FY 2025 allocations and beyond. Although the functions of these programs have been assigned to staff in the Office of Postsecondary Education and the Office of Higher Education, their inexperience with the programs has also made implementation and administration difficult.

Again, we strongly urge the Appropriations Committee to protect and fund these critical programs.

Thank you for your consideration of our requests.

Sincerely,

Deborah K. Ross

Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr.

Member of Congress

Julia Brownley

Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici

ember of Congress

Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal

Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Jasmine Crockett Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Angie Craig
Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress



Bill Foster Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress Dwight Evans Member of Congress

- hu

trament.

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Johathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress Jerrold Nadler
Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

MARK TAKANO Member of Congress Joe Neguse Member of Co

Member of Congress

innay Panetta ember of Congress

Chellie Pingree
Member of Congress

Chell R

David Scott Member of Congress

Greg Stanton
Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress Jij Tokuda Member of Congress

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress Lori Trahan

Member of Congress

Nikema Williams
Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress Mikki Budzinski

Member of Congress

Val Hoyle

Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Sarah McBride Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress Ilhan Ömar

Member of Congress

ared Golden Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Josh Gotthermer Member of Congress

Shomari Figures
Member of Congress

Amonica McIver Member of Congress Lateefah Simon
Member of Congress

Janelle S. Bynum Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Laura Friedman
Member of Congress

Froy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

Sam T Liccardo Member of Congress Delia C. Ramirez
Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio
Member of Congress

Summer L. Lee Member of Congress

George Whitesides Member of Congress

Maxine Dexter Member of Congress