Region XII

Regional Team

The following NAFSA members have volunteered their time, support, and expertise to serve on the current Region XII Team. Please feel free to contact them for assistance.

Chair (2017) Past Chair (2017)
Judy Mitchell
Associate Director; International Students & Scholars
California Polytechnic State University, 
San Luis Obispo
500 El Camino Real
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
Tel: 805.756.5837
jumitche@calpoly.edu

View position description
Jack Hobson
Director, Study Abroad
California State University, Fullerton
800 N State College Blvd
Fullerton, CA 92831 
Tel: 657.278.2935
jhobson@fullerton.edu

View position description
Chair-Elect (2017) Treasurer (2017-2019)
Travis Pentz
Study Abroad Advisor
University of California, Berkeley
160 Stephens Hall #2302
Berkeley, CA 94720
Tel: 510.642.1356
tpentz@berkeley.edu

View position description
Malou Amparo
Assistant Director of Residence Life
Eleanor Roosevelt College and International House
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive #0547
La Jolla, CA 92093-0547
Tel: 858.534.2261
region12treasurer@gmail.com

View position description
Conference Chair (2017) Secretary (2017-2019)
Trish Reiff
Associate Director, International Programs
University of California-Davis Extension
1333 Research Park Drive
Davis, CA 95618 
Tel: 530.754.6434
pareiff@ucdavis.edu

View position description
Carolina De la Rosa Bustamante
Academic Advisor, Study Abroad @ The Beach
Center for International Education
California State University, Long Beach
6300 State University Drive
Long Beach, CA 90815
Tel: 562.985.4845
carolina.delarosa@csulb.edu

View position description
Membership & Mentor Program Coordinator (2017-2018) K-12 Representative (2017-2018)
Tracey Ward
Supervisor, International Student Services
Mission College
300 Mission College Blvd MS#13
Santa Clara, CA 95054
Tel: 408.855.5574
tracey.ward@wvm.edu

View position description
Stephanie ToriumiStephanie Toriumi
International Student Coordinator
Mid-Pacific Institute
2445 Ka'ala Street
Honolulu, HI 96822
Tel: 808.441.3937
storiumi@midpac.edu
Communications Coordinator (2016-2017) Education & Training Coordinator (2017-2018)
Briana-sapp-tivey-medBriana Sapp Tivey
Deputy to the Associate Vice Provost & Executive Director
University of California Education Abroad Program
Systemwide Office
Goleta, CA 93117
Tel: 805.893.4705
bsapp@eap.ucop.edu


View position description
Shelley Helgeson
Assistant Director
University of San Francisco
University Center, 5th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94117
Tel: 415.422.2654
sahelgeson@usfca.edu
KC Teaching, Learning, and Scholarship Rep (2016-2017) KC International Student & Scholar Services Rep (2017-2018)
Katherine Punteney
Program Chair & Assistant Professor
MA in International Educational Management Program
Middlebury Institute Of International Studies at Monterey
460 Pierce Street
Monterey, CA 93940
Tel: 831.647.4625
kpunteney@miis.edu

View position description
Jay Ward
Associate Director, Office of International Programs
San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94132
Tel: 415.338.1121
jward@sfsu.edu

View position description
KC Education Abroad Rep (2017-2018) KC International Education Leadership Rep (2017-2018)
Kylie Gallagher
University Relations Regional Director - West
CISabroad
Tel: 413.582.0407 ext.5022
kgallagher@cisabroad.com

View position description
Kati Bell
Director, Global Education Office (GEO)
Dominican University of California
50 Acacia Avenue, Edgehill, 3rd Floor
San Rafael, CA 94901
Tel: 415.482.2483
kati.bell@dominican.edu

View position description
Community Colleges Rep (2016-2017) Reg Ombud: F-1 Students (2017-2018)
Steve Jacques
Director, Office of International Programs  
Leeward Community College
University of Hawai'i
96-045 Ala Ike, Pearl City, HI 96782
Tel: 808.455.0519
jacques@hawaii.edu

View position description
Erin Skelly
Lead Advisor for Graduate Student Services & Regulatory Practice
Berkeley International Office
University of California Berkeley
2299 Piedmont Ave.
Berkeley, CA 94720-2321
Phone: 510.642.7344
eskelly@berkeley.edu

View position description
Reg Ombud: Scholars (2016-2017) KC International Enrollment Management Rep (2016-2017)
Roark MillerRoark Miller
Director, International Faculty & Scholar Office
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Dr., #0018
La Jolla, CA 92093
Tel: 858.534.3731
rtmiller@ucsd.edu

View position description
Denica MaravillaDenica Kelly
International Student Counselor
De Anza College
21250 Stevens Creek Blvd
Cupertino, CA 95014
Tel: 408.864.8826
kellydenica@fhda.edu

View position description
Advocacy Rep (2016-2017) Postdoc Rep (2017-2018)
Marjory GoodingMarjory Gooding
Director, International Offices (Retired)
California Institute of Technology
Tel: 626.298.4013
Marjory.Gooding@Caltech.edu

View position description
Holly Nigorizawa
Program Director, CAIPS International Programs
University of California, San Francisco
International Students & Scholars Office, William J. Rutter Center
1675 Owens Street, CC290
San Francisco, CA 94143-0477
Tel: 415.502.3485
holly.nigorizawa@ucsf.edu

View position description
Hawaii & Pacific Islands Chair (2017) Southern District Chair (2017)
Pauline Filemoni
International Student Advisor
Leeward Community College
University of Hawai'i
96-045 Ala Ike, Pearl City, HI 96782
Tel: 808.455.0519
pfilemon@hawaii.edu

View position description
Kerry Gonzales
Assistant Director, Office of International Programs
Whittier College
13406 East Philadelphia Street
Platner 206
Whittier, CA  90608
Tel: 562.907.5097
kgonzal5@whittier.edu

View position description
Northern District Chair (2017) Nevada District Chair (2017)
Adrienne BergenfieldAdrienne Bergenfield
International Student Advisor, International Scholar and Student Services (ISSS)
International Education Office (IEO)
University of California Santa Cruz
Tel: 831.459.3550
abergenf@ucsc.edu

View position description
Mary Sasso
Director, International Center
College of Southern Nevada
6375 W. Charleston Blvd., WCD106
Las Vegas, NV 89146
Tel: 702-651-5820
mary.sasso@csn.edu

View position description