The Annual Award for Outstanding Contributions to International Enrollment Management


The International Enrollment Management (IEM) Knowledge Community (KC) addresses the needs of international education professionals working in admissions, recruitment, enrollment management, marketing, credential evaluation, intensive English programs, sponsored program administration, and overseas advising. This community provides its members with leading-edge knowledge and resources.

The Annual Award for Outstanding Contributions to International Enrollment Management (IEM) honors a NAFSA member who has made exemplary contributions to the field of IEM. Nominees must demonstrate a willingness to share knowledge, skills, and expertise with colleagues. They will have made exemplar contributions to the field in a variety of ways, including resource development, training, leadership, advocacy, and mentoring for a minimum of 10 years.

2016 - Marjorie Smith, University of Denver

Marjorie SmithMarjorie has worked in international enrollment management at the University of Denver for 31 years, where she leads all international recruitment, admission, and foreign credentials analysis as the Associate Dean and Director of International Student Admission. Prior to joining DU, Marjorie taught English to businessmen in Japan. She participated in her first Linden Recruitment Tour to Asia in 1988, and has gone on 29 Linden Tours and countless CIS tours over the years. In addition to her extensive recruitment travel, Marjorie has contributed to several international education publications and articles, including NAFSA’s Guide to International Student Recruitment, 2nd Edition, “The Admission and Placement of Students from the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic – A Workshop Report 1992” and “PIER World Education Series INDIA – Special Report 1997.” She is currently serving her second term on the Educational Credential Evaluators (ECE) board and serves on the board for StudyColorado. Marjorie has consulted on international enrollment management at various US campuses, and is a mentor and friend to many professionals in the field.

Past Recipients

Past recipients (and their professional affiliations at the time of the award) are:

  • 2015 - Evelyn Levinson, American University
  • 2014 - Marty Bennett, CollegeWeekLive
  • 2013 - Julie Sinclair, Michigan State University
  • 2012 - Mary H. Reeves, PhD., Commission on English Language Program Accreditation (CEA)