NAFSA Regions


NAFSA's membership in the United States* is organized into 11 geographic regions that provide the important grassroots strength of the association. Many opportunities for involvement, association activities, and leadership are found at the regional level. Navigate to your respective region’s page below and reach out to the regional leadership to learn more about how to get involved!

Region OneRegion One
Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

Region TwoRegion Two
Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming

Region ThreeRegion Three
Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Texas

Region FourRegion Four
Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, South Dakota

Region FiveRegion Five
Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin

Region SixRegion Six
Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio

Region SevenRegion Seven
Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands

Region EightRegion Eight
Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia

Region TenRegion Ten
New Jersey, New York

Region ElevenRegion Eleven
Connecticut, New Hampshire, Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Vermont

Region TwelveRegion Twelve
California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands

Get Involved at the Regional Level

Each region is governed by an elected chair and an executive team to carryout the region’s annual work plan. The regional team as a whole is composed of representatives of the knowledge communities, interest groups, states and districts, and many other regional constituents. Many states and metropolitan areas also hold regular NAFSA meetings. The regional teams often sponsor workshops on topics of special interest and annual conferences. Get in touch with your leadership team to find out more about what is happening at the regional, state, and local levels!

Regional Conferences 2019

Annually in the fall, the 11 NAFSA regions hold their conferences. These are excellent opportunities to network with accomplished colleagues, stay current with the latest trends, and engage on critical issues relevant to your daily work. View dates and locations for this year's conferences.

Learn more

Regional Affairs Committee

The Regional Affairs Committee are the past chairs of the 11 regions and ensure the development and dissemination of knowledge needed by professionals engaged on regional leadership teams and in regional events and offerings. Regional Affairs Committee members:

  • Assess needs of regional leaders and design processes, guidelines, tools, training, etc. to serve them.
  • Facilitate the development of sound business and leadership practices in the regions, consistent with the fiduciary obligations of the association—fiscal, legal, and ethical.
  • Encourage members in the regions to provide their information in the member skills database for consideration for task forces and leadership positions for which they have particular expertise.

Chair, Regional Affairs Committee
Jeffrey Foot
LewerMark Student Insurance

Chair-designate, Regional Affairs Committee
Kristy Aoki
St. Norbert College

*Members who reside outside the United States are encouraged to participate in professional development activities that take place at the regional and national levels and to become involved in NAFSA's volunteer leadership. NAFSA also works collaboratively with sister organizations in other countries and world regions that promote international education and exchange.

Connect Locally

Contact Us

Please contact us at

Regional Flyer

Download the 2019 flyer Icon PDF 16