Health & Safety Subcommittee

January 26, 2018 Download pdf

The Health and Safety Subcommittee Charge

  • Provide knowledgeable experts to be "on call" for NAFSA referrals on questions of health and safety
  • Coordinate knowledge community efforts when incidents (political strife, outbreaks of disease, natural disasters, etc.) occur that could jeopardize the health or safety of students engaged in education abroad
  • Develop appropriate workshops and publications to help Education Abroad professionals understand and implement the Interassociational Advisory Committee on Safety and Responsibility in Study Abroad's "Responsible Study Abroad: Good Practices for Health & Safety"
  • Participate in the Interassociational Advisory Committee, and communicate with the VP for Education and Professional Development before NAFSA is listed as endorsing specific guidelines that committee may develop
  • Develop effective liaisons with other organizations and work with them to develop standards for the profession

The full charge to the subcommittee is available to NAFSA members.

Health and Safety Subcommittee Members

Jason Hope
Content Coordinator, Health & Safety EA Subcommittee & Co-Chair
University of Kentucky
jasonhope@uky.edu

Dan Hart
Co-Chair
Arizona State University
Dan.Hart@asu.edu

Bill Bull
Member
CIEE
bbull@ciee.org

Nicole Gowdy Desjardins
Member
Pomona College
Nicole.gowdy@pomona.edu

Anne Ogilvie
Member
Worcester State University
atogilvie@wpi.edu

Catherine (Catey) Williams
Member
Georgetown University
catey.williams@georgetown.edu

Steve Bell
Member
Old Dominion University
sdbell@odu.edu

Jamie Robinson
Member
CEA
jRobinson@CEAStudyAbroad.com