Health & Safety Subcommittee

January 19, 2016 Download pdf

The Health and Safety Subcommittee Charge

  • Provide knowledgeable experts to be "on call" for NAFSA referrals on questions of health and safety
  • Coordinate knowledge community efforts when incidents (political strife, outbreaks of disease, natural disasters, etc.) occur that could jeopardize the health or safety of students engaged in education abroad
  • Develop appropriate workshops and publications to help Education Abroad professionals understand and implement the Interassociational Advisory Committee on Safety and Responsibility in Study Abroad's "Responsible Study Abroad: Good Practices for Health & Safety"
  • Participate in the Interassociational Advisory Committee, and communicate with the VP for Education and Professional Development before NAFSA is listed as endorsing specific guidelines that committee may develop
  • Develop effective liaisons with other organizations and work with them to develop standards for the profession

The full charge to the subcommittee is available to NAFSA members.

Health and Safety Subcommittee Members

Steve Hopkins
Chair
Senior Account Executive
Cultural Insurance Services International (CISI)
shopkins@culturalinsurance.com 

Julie Santos
Vice-Chair
Associate Director
International Programs Office
Occidental College
jimenezj@oxy.edu 

Steven Bell
Member
Director, Study Abroad
Old Dominion University
sdbell@odu.edu 

Bill Bull
Member
Director, Health, Safety and Security
CIEE
bbull@ciee.org 

Nicole Desjardins Gowdy
Member
Director of Study Abroad
Pomona College
nicole.gowdy@pomona.edu 

Dan Hart
Member
Assistant Director, Student Safety & Engagement
Study Abroad Office
Arizona State University
dan.hart@asu.edu 

Elizabeth Huskin
Member
Assistant Director of International and Study Abroad Programs
University of Houston-Downtown
huskine@uhd.edu 

Adam Jones
Member
China Programs Manager
CET Academic Programs
ajones@academic-travel.com 

Rebeca Mueller
Member
Health, Safety and Cultural Affairs
International Programs Office
Medical University of South Carolina
muellemr@musc.edu 

Anne Ogilvie
Member
Director of Global Operations
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
atogilvie@wpi.edu 

Jamie Robinson
Member
Health and Safety Advisor
CEA Study Abroad
jrobinson@ceastudyabroad.com 

Catherine Williams
Member
Assistant Director for International Safety, Security, and Programs
Georgetown University
cah46@georgetown.edu 

Jason Hope
Member
Content Coordinator for Health and Safety
Manager of International Health, Safety & Security 
University of Kentucky
jasonhope@uky.edu