Region V

About Region V

NAFSA has nearly 9,000 members at 3,500 institutions worldwide, representing 94 countries. The organization is divided into 11 geographic regions, which provide the all-important grassroots strength of the association. Many opportunities for involvement, association activities, and leadership are found at the regional level. Each region is governed by an elected chair and a team comprised of representatives of the professional sections and interest groups.

The purpose of Region V is to advance NAFSA's mission within the region's specified area by developing and implementing appropriate activities to such purposes, and by responding to the particular needs of its members. NAFSA Region V, composed of Illinois, Michigan, and Wisconsin, has approximately 800 members representing more than 250 institutions.

Region V Team Members (2017-19)

Position Name E-mail Term
Chair Scott Manley
smmanley@umich.edu 12/31/2017
Chair-Elect  Karin Christoph Brown
karin@oneearthevaluations.org 12/31/2017
Past-Chair Kristy Aoki
aokik@uwgb.edu 12/31/2017
Conference Chair  Emily Boerman
eboerman@emich.edu 12/31/2017
Conference Chair Designee Elizabeth Hall ehall9@iit.edu 12/31/2017
Treasurer  Bob White rwhite@masudafunai.com 12/31/2017
Treasurer - Designee
VACANT
VACANT 12/31/2017
KC IEL Rep Matthew Schneider
mattschni@gmail.com 12/31/2019
KC IEM Liaison Yimin Wang ywan107@ilstu.edu 12/31/2019
KC EA Liaison  Kelly Heath kheath2@luc.edu 12/31/2019
KC EA Liaison Mark Eckman eckmanm@uwm.edu  12/31/2017
KC ISSS Liaison VACANT VACANT 12/31/2019
KC TLS Liaison Gretchen Dee gdee@els.edu 12/31/2019
Regulatory Ombudsperson - Student Hersh Sisodia hsisodia@msu.edu   12/31/2017
Regulatory Ombudsperson - Scholar Bob White rwhite@masudafunai.com 12/31/2017
Advocacy Coordinator Emlyn Torres e-torres@northwestern.edu 12/31/2017
Community College Liaison Derek Shouba derek.shouba@morton.edu 12/31/2019
Exhibitor Coordinator Laura Sippel lauracsippel@gmail.com 12/31/2017
Exhibitor Coordinator Katerina Roskina eval@chinacredentials.com 12/31/2019
Communications Coordinator Deirdre Griffin deirdre.griffin@vai.org 12/31/2018
Michigan State Representative Liesl Scullen lscullen@walshcollege.edu 12/31/2017
Wisconsin State Representative Sarah Christensen sarah.christensen@uwc.edu 12/31/2017
Illinois State Representative Lily Huang qhuang3@illinois.edu 12/31/2017

Connect Locally

The following organizations, which are independent of NAFSA: Association of International Educators, provide additional opportunities to network and access resources within your state as well as local communities.

Job Registry

View open positions