Region V

About Region V

NAFSA has nearly 9,000 members at 3,500 institutions worldwide, representing 94 countries. The organization is divided into 11 geographic regions, which provide the all-important grassroots strength of the association. Many opportunities for involvement, association activities, and leadership are found at the regional level. Each region is governed by an elected chair and a team comprised of representatives of the professional sections and interest groups.

The purpose of Region V is to advance NAFSA's mission within the region's specified area by developing and implementing appropriate activities to such purposes, and by responding to the particular needs of its members. NAFSA Region V, composed of Illinois, Michigan, and Wisconsin, has approximately 800 members representing more than 250 institutions.

Region V Team Members (2018-20)

Position Name E-mail Term
Chair Karin Christoph Brown
karin@oneearthevaluations.org
12/31/2019
Chair-Elect  Matthew Schneider
matt.schneider@wesli.com
12/31/2019
Past-Chair Scott Manley
smmanley@umich.edu 12/31/2019
Conference Chair  Elizabeth Hall ehall9@iit.edu 12/31/2019
Conference Chair Designee VACANT VACANT
12/31/2020
Treasurer  Bob White rwhite@masudafunai.com 12/31/2019
Treasurer - Designee
Ugo Buzzi     ubuzzi@umich.edu 12/31/2019
KC IEL Rep VACANT VACANT 12/31/2020
KC IEM Liaison Yimin Wang ywan107@ilstu.edu 12/31/2019
KC EA Liaison  Catrina DeBord catrina.debord@northwestern.edu 12/31/2019
KC EA Liaison Mark Eckman eckmanm@uwm.edu  12/31/2019
KC ISSS Liaison John Prescott jbpresco@umich.edu 12/31/2019
KC TLS Liaison Gretchen Dee gdee@els.edu 12/31/2019
Regulatory Ombudsperson - Student Hersh Sisodia hsisodia@msu.edu   12/31/2019
Regulatory Ombudsperson - Scholar Bob White rwhite@masudafunai.com 12/31/2019
Advocacy Coordinator Emlyn Torres e-torres@northwestern.edu 12/31/2019
Community College Liaison Derek Shouba derek.shouba@morton.edu 12/31/2019
Exhibitor Coordinator Katerina Roskina eval@chinacredentials.com 12/31/2019
Communications Coordinator VACANT VACANT 12/31/2020
Michigan State Representative Kelly Wagner kellwag@umich.edu 12/31/2017
Wisconsin State Representative Sara Friar sfriar@edgewood.edu 12/31/2017
Illinois State Representative Lily Huang qhuang3@illinois.edu 12/31/2017

Connect Locally

The following organizations, which are independent of NAFSA: Association of International Educators, provide additional opportunities to network and access resources within your state as well as local communities.

Job Registry

View open positions