Diana Carlin, PhD

Former Associate Provost for Graduate and Global Education
Saint Louis University
NAFSA Secretary

Diana Bartelli Carlin served as the senior international officer at Saint Louis University and at the University of Kansas. She retired from Saint Louis University in January 2016. She has been a NAFSA member since 2000. In 2007 and 2008, she served as dean-in-residence and director of international outreach at the Council of Graduate Schools. Carlin chaired the NAFSA Task Force on the Bologna Process from 2006 to 2008 and has presented at several NAFSA annual conferences, regional conferences, and preconference workshops. She assisted NAFSA teams with preparations for the 2010 annual conference in Kansas City and the 2013 annual conference in St. Louis, and organized and chaired a Colloquium on Sustainability and Internationalization at the 2013 conference. During her tenure at Kansas, the university received the Senator Paul Simon Award, and the Center for Global Citizenship at Saint Louis University won the inaugural AIEA Innovation Award. She has authored book chapters on joint and dual degrees, international student support, and faculty international development. Carlin received a Fulbright International Education Administrators award to France in 2013 and a Fulbright Specialist Award to Myanmar/Burma in 2016. Carlin is former associate provost for graduate and global education at Saint Louis University, and professor emerita of communication and former dean of the Graduate School and International Programs at the University of Kansas.