NAFSA celebrates innovation and values highly talented volunteer leaders and staff. 


Esther D. Brimmer, Executive Director and CEO
Esther Brimmer, DPhil, currently serves as the executive director and chief executive officer of NAFSA: Association of International Educators. Dr. Brimmer’s distinguished career includes three appointments within the U.S. Department of State, serving most recently as the assistant secretary for international organization affairs from April 2009 to 2013. Prior to joining NAFSA, Dr. Brimmer was professor of practice of international affairs at George Washington University’s Elliott School of International Affairs where she served a two-year term as the J.B. and Maurice C. Shapiro Professor. She was also an adjunct senior fellow for international institutions at the Council on Foreign Relations, and a senior adviser at McLarty Associates. She was previously deputy director and director of research at the Center for Transatlantic Relations at the Johns Hopkins University's Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS) from 2001 to 2009, and was a member of the SAIS faculty. She also taught at the College of Europe in Belgium, and from 1995 to 1999, she was a senior associate at the Carnegie Commission on Preventing Deadly Conflict. Earlier, she served on Capitol Hill as a legislative analyst for the Democratic Study Group in the U.S. House of Representatives. Immediately after earning her doctorate from Oxford University, she spent two years as a management consultant with McKinsey & Company.

Learn more about the rest of NAFSA's senior staff.

  • Beth Sharp, Executive Assistant

Human Resources and Administration

Contact Human Resources and Administration

  • Stacy Johnson, Office Administrator
  • Adam Malyala, Human Resources Associate
  • Patricia Scott, Senior Director, Human Resources

Strategic Partnerships and Development

Contact Strategic Partnerships and Development

  • Sheden Alsaaty, Senior Director, Strategic Partnerships and Development
  • Gail Hochhauser, Senior Advisor, Organizational Advancement
  • Joanne Kuriyan, Exhibits Director

Knowledge Development

Academic Affairs and Internationalization

Contact Academic Affairs and Internationalization

  • Elizabeth (Liz) Cameron, Program Manager, Internationalization and Global Engagement
  • Dale LaFleur, Senior Director, Academic Affairs & Internationalization
  • Shanna Saubert, Associate Director, Research and Scholarship

Conference Program

Contact Conference Program

  • Katarzyna (Kasia) Batorski, Senior Director, Conference Program
  • Shaina Dorow, Program Manager, Conference Program


Contact Publications

  • Meredith Bell, Editor, Digital Content
  • Elizabeth Hendley, Editor-in-Chief, International Educator
  • Dara Liling, Senior Editor, Publishing Services

Finance and Administration

  • Jane Hoffman, Deputy Executive Director/Chief Financial Officer

Conference and Meeting Planning

Contact Conference and Meeting Planning

  • Antoinette Dixon, Registration and Housing Specialist
  • Shannon Mulvaney, Associate Director, Conferences & Meetings
  • Leslie Murray, Senior Director, Conferences, Meetings & Virtual Events


Contact Finance and Administration

  • Jenny Heinritz, Controller
  • Irina Schuster, Accounts Payable Administrator
  • Tonia Wise, Accounting Associate

Marketing and Membership

Contact Marketing and Creative Services | Contact Membership

  • Brace Ford, Director, Membership and Career Center
  • Robin Little, Director, Production and Marketing Services
  • James Mahoney, Senior Director, Marketing and Membership

Technology Solutions

Contact Technology Solutions

  • Irie Gourde, Technology Solutions Coordinator
  • Kristen Johnson, Senior Director, Technology Solutions
  • Melissa Larkin, Director, Technology Solutions
  • Pete Mason, Director, Digital Experience
  • Michelle Osei-Nsafoah, Service Desk Support Specialist, Technology Operations
  • Brittney Peters, Event Technology Manager
  • Ronnie Townsend, Event Technology Specialist
  • Norman Twitty, Manager, Technology Support

Leadership and Professional Development Services

Education Abroad Services

Contact Education Abroad Services

  • Myra Engle, Program Manager, Education Abroad Services & Volunteer Engagement
  • Allison Cash Spiro, Associate Director, Education Abroad Outreach and Regulatory Practice
  • Caroline Donovan White, Senior Director, Education Abroad Services & Volunteer Engagement

International Enrollment Management
International Student/Scholar Services

Contact International Enrollment Management | Contact International Student/Scholar Services

  • David Fosnocht, Director, Immigration Practice Resources
  • Erin Heffernan, Program Manager, IEM-ISS Services
  • Joann Ng Hartmann, Senior Director, IEM-ISS Services & Volunteer Engagement
  • Alena Palevitz, Associate Director, International Student & Scholar Services
  • Steve Springer, Director, Regulatory Practice Liaison

Professional Learning Services

Contact Professional Learning Services

  • Sebastien Auguste, Associate Director, Online Learning
  • Corrie Fisher, Senior Learning Designer
  • Chad Goeden, Director, Programs and Training
  • Lauren Newton, Associate Director, Professional Learning Services

Regional Affairs

Contact Regional Affairs

  • Elisa Becker, Program Manager, Regional Affairs
  • Chelsea Ridenour, Director, Regional Affairs
  • Julia Ruane, Program Manager, Regional Affairs

Public Policy and Advocacy

Public Policy, Media Relations and Advocacy

Contact Public Policy | Contact Media Relations | Contact Advocacy

  • Rachel Banks, Senior Director, Public Policy & Legislative Strategy
  • Matt Ruffner, Public Policy & Media Relations Specialist
  • Erica Stewart, Director, Advocacy and Media Outreach
  • Heather Stewart, Counsel and Director of Immigration Policy