In a May 9, 2009 fact sheet, CBP confirmed that automatic revalidation is not available to nationals of Iran, Syria, Sudan, and Cuba, the four countries that are currently designated as state sponsors of terrorism in the State Department's Country Reports on Terrorism.

At one time, Iraq, Libya, and North Korea had also been on the list of state sponsors of terrorism, but have since been removed. Even though a national of a country other than Iran, Syria, Sudan, or Cuba may be eligible for reentry under the automatic extension of visa validity provision under the regulations, though, they may still require security or other clearances before being permitted to reenter the United States, which may require them to remain outside the U.S. for more than 30 days.