DHS published a final rule on Thursday, June 12, 2003, stating that parole authority under 8 CFR 212.5 will now reflect the new titles under the organizational structures of the Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services (BCIS), the Bureau of Customs and Border Protection (CBP), and the Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). This rule does not make any substantive changes to the standards for making determinations regarding requests for parole. [68 Fed. Reg. 36151 (June 12, 2003)]

The term "Commissioner" has been replaced with "Secretary" to reflect the transfer of authority over parole issues from the INS to DHS and the component organizations of the BCIS, CBP, and ICE. The Component heads of the three bureaus are the Director of the BCIS, Commissioner of CBP, and Assistant Secretary for ICE. AMDOC#: 200306003