WASHINGTON, November 9, 2017 – NAFSA: Association of International Educators will host a panel discussion of college and university presidents and chancellors on how to expand access to the global learning opportunities that graduates need in order to succeed in the world economy. The college and university leaders are from institutions awarded NAFSA’s 2017 Senator Paul Simon Awards for Campus Internationalization for their success in developing international curriculums, integrating international students into the campus and diversifying enhanced access to study abroad.

Event: Senator Paul Simon Award for Campus Internationalization, featuring a Presidential Panel and Reception Honoring the 2017 Award Recipients
When: Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Presidential Panel: 4:00 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Reception and Awards Ceremony: 5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Where: Mayflower Hotel
1127 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20001

Attending the Event
Reporters interested in covering this event should contact [email protected] by C.O.B. Thursday, November 9.

Live Webcast
While space is limited for this invite-only event, the presidential panel will be broadcasted live via webcast beginning at 4 p.m. EST at www.nafsa.org/simonwebcast.

2017 Winning Institutions
Senator Paul Simon Award for Comprehensive Internationalization:

  • Florida State University
  • University of Iowa
  • Santa Monica College
  • University of Pittsburgh

Senator Paul Simon Spotlight Award:

  • Spelman College
  • Texas Christian University
  • University of North Texas


  • John Thrasher, J.D., President, Florida State University
  • Bruce Harreld, President, University of Iowa
  • Patrick Gallagher, Ph.D., Chancellor, University of Pittsburgh
  • Mary Schmidt Campbell, Ph.D., President, Spelman College
  • Neal J. Smatresk, Ph.D., President, University of North Texas

Additional speakers at panel

  • Elaine Meyer-Lee, Ed.D., NAFSA President and Chair of the Board of Directors
  • Esther D. Brimmer, DPhil, NAFSA Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer

Representatives from the U.S. Departments of State and Education will also give brief remarks at the awards reception.

About the Senator Paul Simon Awards
The Simon Award is named for the late Senator Paul Simon (D - Ill.), a strong supporter of international education. The awards recognize outstanding and innovative achievements by a college or university in the area of campus internationalization, including success in developing globalized curricula, integrating international students into the campus, and diversifying access to study abroad. To learn more about the NAFSA Simon Award, visit www.nafsa.org/SimonAward and follow #SimonAward.

With more than 10,000 members in 150 countries, NAFSA: Association of International Educators is the world's largest nonprofit association dedicated to international education. Visit us at www.nafsa.org/press and follow #IEW2017 and #SimonAward for event information. To learn more about our advocacy efforts on behalf of international education, visit www.ConnectingOurWorld.org and @ConnectOurWorld on Twitter.