Simon Award logo

The Senator Paul Simon Award for Campus Internationalization recognizes U.S. colleges and universities that are making significant, well-planned, well-executed, and well-documented progress toward comprehensive internationalization—especially those using innovative and creative approaches. There are two categories in which an institution can receive a Simon Award, Comprehensive and Spotlight.


2023 Simon Awards Announced

On February 14, 2023, NAFSA announced that seven U.S. universities and colleges have been selected to receive a 2023 Senator Paul Simon Award for Campus Internationalization. Join NAFSA in congratulating these institutions on their campus internationalization efforts!

Comprehensive Award

The Simon Award for Comprehensive Internationalization is granted to a limited number of institutions each year - usually no more than five. The award recognizes overall excellence in internationalization efforts as evidenced in mission, strategies, programs, and results.

  • East Carolina University
  • Georgia State University
  • Northwestern University
  • University of Kentucky

Spotlight Award

The NAFSA Senator Paul Simon Spotlight Award is presented to no more than three institutions that highlight innovative internationalization programs and initiatives.

  • Albany State University for its Curriculum Internationalization initiative
  • Arizona State University for its Afghan Women's Education Project
  • Cedar Crest College for its Carmen Twillie Ambar Sophomore Expedition program

Past Award Winners

Discover the institutions with innovative international programs.

Learn more

Profiles of Success

Review NAFSA’s digital Internationalizing the Campus.

Learn more