The Sally M. Heym Award is named in memory of Sally M. Heym, a member of NAFSA Region XI for more than twenty years who provided innovative, creative, and inspired leadership to her colleagues, both in the region and at the national level. One of Sally's areas of special interest was promoting professional development opportunities for NAFSAns at all stages in their careers.

This award will honor a colleague who has made outstanding contributions to the field of international education as a mentor, is an active member of NAFSA Region XI and has played a leadership role in promoting international education in the region, has been in the field of international education for at least five (5) years, and has been an inspiration to colleagues as well as a continuing source of information and wisdom.

This award includes a plaque and a $500 monetary prize that must be used for professional development (e.g., to attend a course or workshop, to undertake a research project, to attend a conference outside of NAFSA, for international travel, for books or videos in the field, etc.). In the event that the recipient is an employee of the federal government or can be seen to have a conflict of interest, no monetary award will be included.

The official presentation of the award will be made at the regional conference.

Past recipients

  • 1996 - Sharon Ladd (Harvard)
  • 1997 - Carole Cumps (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
  • 1998 - Bob Chudy (UConn)
  • 1999 - Jennifer Stevens (MIT and independent consultant)
  • 2000 - Don Ross (Salem State College)
  • 2001 - Jane Etish-Andrews (Tufts University)
  • 2002 - Scott Quint (Northeastern University)
  • 2004 - George Commenator (Southern New Hampshire University)
  • 2006 - Jane Rosenberg (Boston University)
  • 2007 - Davie Elwell (Brandeis University)
  • 2008 - Maureen Martin (Harvard)
  • 2009 - Jane Howard (Mount Ida College)
  • 2010 - Natalie Mello (WPI)
  • 2011 - James Leck (Boston University; posthumously awarded), Jeanne Kelley (Boston University)
  • 2014 - Linda Drake Gobbo (SIT), Julie Leitman (Academic Programs International)
  • 2015 - Dawn Sedutto (Southern New Hampshire University)
  • 2016 - Penny Rosser (MIT), Dan Berger (Curran & Berger LLP)
  • 2017 - Emma Swift (UVM)