The Department of Homeland Security issued a notice effective April 28, 2011, that it has removed the following countries from designation under the National Security Entry-ExitRegistration System (NSEERS):

  • Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Egypt, Eritrea, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

DHS determined that manually capturing arrival/exit information on non-immigrant travelers through the NSEERS "special registration" program was redundant and did not increase security, so nationals or citizens of these countries will no longer be subject to special registration procedures.