EA Leadership Award

The Education Abroad Leadership Award was established in 1999 with the support and approval of the then-SECUSSA national team to complement the Lily von Klemperer Award and recognize members whose records of distinguished service to the education abroad profession exceed 15 years. Each year, this award is given by the Education Abroad Knowledge Community (EAKC) to one education abroad professional. 

Nominations for the 2024 EAKC awards are open! Nominations for the 2024 awards close February 1, 2024.

Joanna Holvey Bowles

Colgate University
Joanna Holvey Bowles is director of off-campus study at Colgate University where she oversees all education abroad planning and activities including the annual administration of 20 semester-long, faculty -led global programs and up to eight, field-based, 3-week extensions of campus courses. This...

Julie Leitman

Julie Leitman
Academic Programs International (API Abroad)
Julie Leitman, currently serving as the Vice President of Strategic Initiatives, is one of the four “founding mamas” who started Academic Programs International (API) in 1997. Julie began her career in international education in 1982 teaching in Sevilla, Spain. This experience was followed by 8...

Yana A. Cornish, EdD

Yana Cornish
As a former exchange student herself, Yana A. Cornish, EdD, knows firsthand the transformative impact of a global academic experience. Over the last 20 years, Cornish has been serving as an international education administrator in a public higher education setting. Her passion for working with study...
All Past Recipients
Recognition of Award Recipients
Criteria for Selecting Nominees
Selection Information