The Senator Paul Simon Award for Campus Internationalization recognizes U.S. colleges and universities that are making significant, well-planned, well-executed, and well-documented progress toward comprehensive internationalization—especially those using innovative and creative approaches. There are two categories in which an institution can receive a Simon Award, Comprehensive and Spotlight.

Plan ahead - the next application cycle will launch in August 2024.

Comprehensive Award

The Simon Award for Comprehensive Internationalization is granted to a limited number of institutions each year - usually no more than five. The award recognizes overall excellence in internationalization efforts as evidenced in mission, strategies, programs, and results.

  • Alamo Colleges District
  • Auburn University
  • Prairie View A&M University
  • University of California Santa Cruz

Spotlight Award

The NAFSA Senator Paul Simon Spotlight Award is presented to no more than three institutions that highlight innovative internationalization programs and initiatives.

  • Oklahoma State University for its Afghan Family Project
  • Syracuse University for its International Student Success Model
  • Worcester Polytechnic Institute for its Global Projects for All initiative

Past Award Winners

Discover the institutions with innovative international programs.

Learn more

Profiles of Success

Review NAFSA’s digital Internationalizing the Campus.

Learn more