This is a special distinguished service award given to an individual member, institution, business, or agency. The award is given in recognition of 20 years or more of special distinguished service and contribution to the Region resulting in a significant impact on international activities in the Region.

Nomination Process

If more than one person is nominating the same individual, each nominator should submit the following information.

  • Nomination form (200 kbIcon PDF 16)
  • A letter of support, describing the rationale for nominating this individual. Please be sure that you address all of the criteria in the description above. The letter can be written in an attached document, or submitted as an email (with the nomination form attached). Printed copies with signatures are not necessary.
  • If more than one person is nominating the same individual, please submit all documents in one email if possible.
  • Updated resume of the individual being nominated (optional – submit if possible)
  • Submit all materials above to the current Chair-Elect by September 15
Year Recipient
2022 Dr. Zohreh Sotoodeh, Arizona State University
2021 Mark Hallett, Colorado State University
2020 Margie Pascoe, Montana Tech
2019 No Award Given
2018 Mona Miller, Academic Programs International (API)
2017 Effie Koehn, University of Montana
2016 Linda Melville, University of New Mexico
2015 Tina Tan, University of Colorado - Boulder
2014 Ken Bus, Glendale Community College (Arizona)
2013 No Award Given
2012 Colorado State University Office of International Programs
2011 Andy Fraher, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
2010 MaryLee Carter, International Student/Scholar Resources
2009 Armin Gerhard, Wichita State University
2008 TBA
2007 No Award Given
2006 TBA
2005 No Award Given
2004 Nancy Stubbs, University of Colorado, Boulder
2003 No Award Given
2002 No Award Given
2001 Bill Barnhart, University of Utah
2000 Betty Soppelsa, University of Kansas
1999 No Award Given
1998 No Award Given
1997 Pamela Goldsmith, University of Arizona
1996 Jean Griswold, Colorado State University
1995 Frank Pialorsi, University of Arizona
1994 Suzanne Steadman, Arizona State University
1993 James F. Harter, Emporia State University
1992 James Graham, Fort Collins, Colorado
1991 No Award Given
1990 Phyllis Cotton, Institute of International Education, Denver
1989 Clark Coan, University of Kansas, Lawrence
1988 Gene Smith, University of Colorado, Boulder