This award is presented annually to a community volunteer whose work with international programs and activities merits special recognition, likely recipients may include those whose efforts were responsible for the creation of permanent community or institutional programs, improved community awareness of international cultures, or some other equally meritorious contribution to international exchange. The recipient need not be a member of NAFSA: Association of International Educators. If possible, the recipient of this award typically resides in the state that is hosting the regional conference that year.

Nomination Process

If more than one person is nominating the same individual, each nominator should submit the following information.

  • Nomination form (200 kbIcon PDF 16)
  • A letter of support, describing the rationale for nominating this individual. Please be sure that you address all of the criteria in the description above. The letter can be written in an attached document, or submitted as an email (with the nomination form attached). Printed copies with signatures are not necessary.
  • If more than one person is nominating the same individual, please submit all documents in one email if possible.
  • Submit all materials above to the current Chair-Elect by September 15
Year Recipient
2022 Hope Noriega, University of Arizona AND Dilnoza Khasilova, University of Wyoming
2020 Susie Shaw, Don Smith
2019 Harriet Bloom-Wilson
2018 No Award Given
2017 Roy Mongelli
2016 Joan Lasche
2015 Tracy Mouser, Montana State University
2014 Mary Lee Carter
2013 Laela Shimer, Missoula International Friendship Program
2012 No Award Given
2011 No Award Given
2010 Pam Franks, Omaha, NE
2009 Carrie Gadjosik, Missoula International Friendship Program
2008 TBA
2007 Linda & Rick Hanson -Tucson, AZ
2006 Kathy Mulinazzi, Small World, Lawrence, KS
2005 Lanny Maddux, University of Kansas
2004 Renee Berglund- Missoula, Montana
2003 Adair Kanter - Missoula, Montana
2002 Nancy Delaney - Albuquerque, New Mexico
2001 No Award Given
2000 Treva & Bill Lansdown, University of Denver
1999 Joycee Dozier - Missoula, Montana
1998 No Award Given
1997 No Award Given
1996 Helen Nixon - Emporia, Kansas
1995 No Award Given
1994 Jean Griswold, Colorado State University
1993 Joan Alf - Phoenix, Arizona
1992 Karen Clark - New Mexico
1991 Kay Oltman - Boulder, Colorado
1990 Julia Bruner - Bozeman, Montana
1989 Lois Dorsett - Lincoln, Nebraska