Update: Proclamation 10329 of December 28, 2021, A Proclamation on Revoking Proclamation 10315, revoked the southern Africa entry ban effective 12:01 a.m. eastern standard time on December 31, 2021.


The lifting of the ban had been signaled on December 24, 2021, in a tweet by White House spokesperson Kevin Munoz: "On Dec. 31, @POTUS will lift the temporary travel restrictions on Southern Africa countries. This decision was recommended by @CDCgov. The restrictions gave us time to understand Omicron and we know our existing vaccines work against Omicron, esp boosted."

There are currently no geographic COVID-19 entry bans in effect. See NAFSA's page Archive: Geographic COVID-19 Proclamations Affecting Entry from Certain Countries for background on prior COVID-19 entry ban proclamations that have since been revoked. Also see NAFSA's page COVID Vaccine and Test Requirements for U.S. Entry for other COVID-19 travel and entry restrictions.