KC ISSS AwardThe Knowledge Community for International Student and Scholar Services (KC ISSS) is charged with providing professional development opportunities and resources for those in the field of international student and scholar services. This KC ISSS award honors a NAFSA member who has demonstrated outstanding qualities as a leader in the field of international student and scholar services. Nominees should possess qualities of compassion, integrity, and leadership. They must be NAFSA members and been a professional in the field of international student and scholar services for at least 10 years. Nominees should have earned respect and admiration from students, colleagues and peers.

Selection Criteria

The nominee must have:

  • demonstrated a willingness to assist colleagues in the ISSS field;
  • advocated for the cause of international student and scholar services within his/her own institution, as well as with the greater community;
  • personified a constructive leadership style;
  • made exemplary contributions to the field which may include resource development, teaching and training, advocacy and mentoring;
  • empowered the field of international student and scholar services and the association to strive for a world where international education is a worthy pursuit and valuable experience.

Congratulations to the 2020 recipient of the KC ISSS Award of Excellence, Marcia Taylor!

Questions? Contact NAFSA's ISSS team.

Marcia Taylor

University of South Florida
As the director of the Office of International Services, Marcia Taylor is the Primary Designated Official (PDSO) for the university’s F-1 student program, the Responsible Officer (RO) for the university’s J-1 exchange program, and advises university staff on employment based visas and permanent...

Bruce Gawtry

Bruce Gawtry
University of Minnesota, Macalester College
Bruce Gawtry received the 2019 KC ISSS Award of Excellence. Gawtry began working at the University of Minnesota and Macalester College in 2007, shortly after retiring from US Customs and Border Protection (CBP) and Immigration and Naturalization Services (INS). At the University of Minnesota, he...

Michele Janosko

Duquesne University
Michele Janosko received the 2018 KC ISSS Award of Excellence. Janosko started her career in international education In May of 1992 as the administrative assistant in the Office of International Affairs at Duquesne University. It was a long journey from administrative assistant to counselor in...

Masume Assaf

Penn State University
Masume Assaf received the 2017 KC ISSS Award of Excellence. Assaf has advised international students at Penn State for 30+ years. She has served on NAFSA's Board of Directors and has been a presenter at several NAFSA conferences – mostly in the area of F and J regulations. Assaf was the recipient of...

Heather Housley

Georgia State University
Heather Housley received the 2016 KC ISSS Award of Excellence. Housley is director of international student and scholar services at Georgia State University (GSU) in Atlanta, where she has worked with international students and scholars since 1997. Housley is a long-time member of NAFSA and is a...

Chris Bargerstock

Michigan State University
Chris Bargerstock received the 2015 KC ISSS Award of Excellence. Bargerstock is employed by the Michigan State University Office for International Students and Scholars where she is the Associate Director. Chris has had the privilege to work in the field for more than 20 years. She has broad...

Regina Henry

Oklahoma State University
Regina Henry received the 2014 KC ISSS Award of Excellence. Henry is employed at Oklahoma State University, International Students and Scholars office as the Coordinator of Immigration. Regina has had the privilege to work in the field of international education for more than 30 years. She has...

James Luyirika-Sewagudde, Jr.

California State University Chico
James Luyirika-Sewagudde, Jr. received the 2013 KC ISSS Award of Excellence. Luyirika-Sewagudde, Jr. has been a member of NAFSA since 1975 when as a graduate assistant he started what he considers a rewarding, exciting and educational journey. Earlier in his career he had the opportunity to serve as...

Robin Catmur-Smith

Robin Catmur-Smith
University of Georgia
Robin Catmur-Smith is Director of Immigration Services, Office of Global Engagement, at the University of Georgia, and has been in the field of international education since 1995. Robin manages immigration services for UGA and supervises eight colleagues who process student and scholar sponsorships...

Adria Baker, PhD

Rice University
Member at Large, Membership Engagement Committee
Adria Baker, PhD, received the 2011 KC ISSS Award of Excellence. Adria Baker, PhD, Executive Director, Associate Vice Provost for International Education, Office of International Students & Scholars at Rice University, has held a variety of leadership positions in her 25 years of working in...